User management is an add-on to our web services product. It enables you to have pages hidden from visitors, which only your members can see. This works extremely well for subscription based websites or businesses that wish to have specific information web accessible to certain users.
When user management is added, the “User & Groups” menu becomes available on the left hand administration navigation. An example of what it will look like can be seen below.
The new features consist of “Group”, “User”, “Permissions”, and “Options”.
The “Group” feature allows you to create different groups or classes of members. For example you could have a “management” group or a “trainee” group. When you add a user, you can assign that user to a group. To learn more about groups, refer to the “Group” section of the manual.
The “User” feature allows you to add, edit, disable, and delete users. This is also where you would change a user’s information or password, and move into a different group. To learn more about users, refer to the “User” section of the manual.
The “Permissions” feature allows you to limit access to pages for certain groups. This is especially handy if you have managers that need access to manager specific information but do not wish to have general employees view that same information. To learn more about permissions, refer to the “Permissions” section of the manual.
The “Options” feature allows you to accept new users automatically or manually. This is also where one could create a welcome email to the people that have signed up. If you have it so members are not automatically added to a predefined group you will need to enable them manually. Please see the “User” section to learn how to enable a user.